Welcome to Field to Farm Community
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Kennels? Office space?

kennels office shop dog

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

apilcher

apilcher

Chick

• Book Owners
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Hi,

I am new to this, and find it very interesting, so am trying to figure out how viable it is.

I understand that I must have agricultural animals on the land to meet the criteria, but as a sideline can I have some dog kennels? If so can these be in the barn?? I think this is a useful regular income.

Is there any scope for renting out an office to a local business? My guess is no, but just wanted some views.

It mentions having washroom facilities in the barn. Can a small shop be built into the barn?

Thanks for your help

Alan

tim'rous beastie

tim'rous beastie

Calf

• Book Owners
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • LocationSomerset

Hi Alan, welcome :)

Im not much use for legality and technical stuff but i think Working Collies are agricultural, if you were keeping them to train as sheepdogs so i'd hope some kennels would be ok, but i don't think boarding or ordinary dog breeding would be acceptable.  it would be nice to think terriers were ok too as hunting and ratting dogs.  I'd not like a neighbour with kennels tho as the noise travels so far and is very annoying  I'm not anti dog I just can't stand incessant barking, and if you plan on building a house to live on your land you don't want to annoy the neighbours with barking dogs!!